1 Comment

11/10 and 11/11/2012 Mural Showcase

This weekend was definitely a busy one, with me barley managing to do half of the homework I had planned on doing and then hanging out with friends and my mister’s parents when they came for a surprise visit today. I feel completely guilty for doing absolutely nothing artsy and I can feel my artistic energy about to bubble out in a series of random sketches and silly concentration faces.

However, before that happens I decided I really need to make up for not drawing or painting all weekend and wanted to do a little showcase of the Environmental Mural I completed as a high school senior project. It’s my main piece of artwork.. ever. It took over 110 hours to complete over a span of 2 or 3 months and I’d never been more proud of anything in my life, and equally just as glad to be done with it!

Large murals take dedication and tons of patience after all. So without further ado, I present to you a few pictures from my mural!

The First Day

Image

 

Me, a few days in (realizing how paint gets EVERYWHERE)

 

Image

 

In Process

 

Image

 

A Late Night Painting, Still In Process

 

Image

 

FINISHED!!!!

 

Image

 

Signed, to make it official 🙂

 

Image

 

To see a TON more photos and close-ups of this mural you can go to http://mandyhola.wordpress.com

This site is the day by day blog I kept as record of my experience painting this mural, and I added new pictures with almost every post so I didn’t want to overload this post with a billion pictures and tried to keep it short!

During those 110+ hours of painting I met a lot of people, made friends with my high school janitors, and earned some appreciation from my piers because this was definitely not the average senior project. I learned a lot about myself, and a lot about art that I did not know before I started this mural, and if I could go back and do it all again I’d definitely have changed some things, but overall I’m still proud of what I’ve managed to leave behind.

 

One comment on “11/10 and 11/11/2012 Mural Showcase

Leave a Reply

